Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017…so far

toptentuesday.jpg

Happy Tuesday! This week The Broke and the Bookish asked us to share our favorite books so far from 2017. This has been a pretty good year so far for me, I’ve listened to a lot of good Audiobooks, read some great books, read some decent books, and read some that I never want to lay eyes on again…anyway, this list was pretty fun to make because I love reliving the ones I really enjoyed!

1. Shades of Magic Series, V.E. Schwab (Counting it as one, don’t hate me)

I just wrote a review on this series, so if you want to read that click here, but basically this series was awesome, and I’m so glad I got over my fear of it being overrated and picked it up!

Opening Line:

“Kell wore a very peculiar coat.”

2. The Screwtape Letters, C.S. Lewis

A classic that changes every time I read it. This book is a satire about a demon-in-training getting advice from his wise uncle about how to corrupt humans. It’s really fantastic. You can read my review for it here.

Opening Line:

“My dear Wormwood,

I note what you are say about guiding your patient’s reading and taking care that he sees a good deal of his materialist friend.”

 

3. The Boys in the Boat, Daniel James Brown

This true story is fascinating and it makes you want to join a rowing team immediately. It tells a rare story of hope and triumph during war. You can read my review for it here.

Opening Line:

“This book was born on a cold, drizzly, late spring day when I clambered over the split-rail cedar fence that surrounds my pasture and made my way through wet woods to the modest frame house where Joe Rantz lay dying.”

4. The Martian, Andy Weir

This book is suspenseful, clever, and completely hilarious. If you liked the movie, there’s a good chance you’ll like the book. If you haven’t seen the movie, well you should watch that too.

Opening Line:

“I’m pretty much f*****.”

5. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte

This was one of my “I’m embarrassed I’ve never read it” books, so I decided to just get it over with…and I fell in love. I wasn’t expecting to, but I did and I can’t wait to read it again.

Opening Line:

“1801 — I have just returned from a visit to my landlord–the solitary neighbor that I shall be troubled with.”

6. Norse Mythology, Neil Gaiman

Norse literature is one of my all-time favorites, therefore I jumped on this book as soon as I could, and it did not disappoint. I will also say what I always say for a Gaiman book, don’t read it, listen to it, trust me.

Opening Line:

“Many gods and goddesses are named in Norse mythology.”

7. The MaddAdam series, Margaret Attwood

While this series wasn’t my favorite, it was very good and I really enjoyed it. It’s really creepy (as all dystopians should be) and very clever (as most dystopians are…well the good ones anyway). It’s worth a read, and not a very long one for a 3 book series. My review of the series can be found here.

Opening Line:

“Snowman wakes before dawn.”

8. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith

I’ve been telling everyone who will listen to read this book. It took me by force and now I find myself thinking about it all the time. Read this book, it is easily in my top 5 favorite books of all time. My review for it can be found here!

“Serene was a word you could put to Brooklyn, New York.”

9. The Great Good Thing, Andrew Klavan

I’ve talked a lot on this blog about how much I dislike memoirs, and it’s true…mostly…The Great Good Thing is one exception. It’s very funny and very eye-opening, and worth the read, even though it is a memoir ;). You can read my review here!

Opening Line:

“The Church of the Incarnation stands on the corner of 35th Street and Madison Avenue in Manhattan.”

10. Life of Pi, Yann Martel

This book was very popular when I was in finishing college/starting college, so I never had time to read it, but I finally did earlier this year and I saw why it was such a big deal before. It is a very good book and if you haven’t seen the movie, it’s definitely worth the read. Annnd last but not least, you can read my review here!

Opening Line:

“My suffering left me sad and gloomy.”

 

There you have it, I think those are my favorites so far! Check out The Broke and the Bookish for more Top Ten Lists!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017…so far

  1. Jillian

    Some good ones on this list! I need to read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. It’s definitely on my list. I LOVED THE MARTIAN. As well as The Screwtape Letters. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks!! Classics are my favorite, but I really try to change genres a lot! I read Screwtape Letters in high school in a class, so that made it easier for me to pick it up this time. It is tough at times. Life of Pi is great, but it took me awhile to read it too, but if you haven’t seen the movie you really should, it has one of the best twists I’ve ever read!

      Like

    1. Oh you definitely should! It’s so fun! If you have the chance to listen to it on Audiobook, I recommend that because Gaiman reads it himself, and he is such a good auditor.

      Like

Leave a Reply

