Greek Gods Book Tag

I was tagged by Angelica @ The Book Cover Girls to do this brand new tag, The Greek Gods Book Tag, made by the fabulous Zuky the BookBum.

Rules:

  • Pingback to Zuky’s post
  • You can use Zuky’s graphics if you like, but you don’t have to if you don’t want
  • Tag as many people as you want, but please, share the love

 

ZEUS: KING OF THE GODS – YOUR FAVORITE BOOK

4934.jpgThe Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

I will argue, and I have, that no greater fiction book has ever been written. It’s 800 pages of pure genius, and the story is just amazing. It’s not light reading at all; it’s hard work, and you can’t just read it casually–no you need to sit down, book and drink in hand, and read with focus and purpose.

This is the type of novel where I really wonder how the heck someone wrote something like this. Everything is so real in this book, and reading it makes you feel more alive yourself. // Buy Here

“Above all, avoid lies, all lies, especially the lie to yourself. Keep watch on your own lie and examine it every hour, every minute. And avoid contempt, both of others and of yourself: what seems bad to you in yourself is purified by the very fact that you have noticed it in yourself. And avoid fear, though fear is simply the consequence of every lie. Never be frightened at your own faintheartedness in attaining love, and meanwhile do not even be very frightened by your own bad acts.”

HERA: QUEEN OF THE GODS – A BADASS FEMALE CHARACTER

70286248.jpgThe Book Thief by Markus Zusak

How can you not love Liesel Meminger, the main character of The Book Thief? She’s bold, she’s courageous, she’s loyal, she’s smart, and she has a kind heart. She may not be bad-ass in the traditional sense of the phrase (she fight’s no pirates, nor does she lead an army), but she stands up to most evil of enemies and stays brave in the face of perilous danger. She is a true bad-ass. // Buy Here

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

JANUS: GOD OF BEGINNINGS – YOUR FAVORITE DEBUT(S)

ncThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I fell in love with this book, and I was shocked when I heard it was her debut novel. The magic is beautiful, the setting is fantastic, and the characters are highly memorable. A fun little fact about this book, Morgenstern wrote it while participating in NaNoWriMo…so keep your heads up future writers, you can do it!  // Buy Here // Review

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”

ATHENA: GODDESS OF WISDOM – YOUR FAVORITE NON-FICTION BOOK

Unbroken_by_Laura_Hillenbrand_(cover).jpg

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

This story is amazing and it had me hooked from start to finish. This harrowing story of a pilot captured in the Pacific during WWII will pull at all your heartstrings, and make you hope and pray that it is actually only fiction. It’s a tremendous read. // Buy Here

 

“In a single, silent moment, his rage, his fear, his humiliation and helplessness, had fallen away. That morning, he believed, he was a new creation. Softly, he wept.”

APHRODITE: GODDESS OF LOVE – A BOOK YOU ADORE AND RECOMMEND EVERYONE READ (OTHER THAN YOUR FAVORITE BOOK!)

JA-P.jpgJoan of Arc by Mark Twain

I recommend this book to EVERYONE! I’ve read it twice, both times while I was in France, and it has brought me to tears both time.

The oddest thing about this book is that it was written by Mark Twain. He is probably the last author I would pick to write a book about Joan of Arc, but I’m so happy he did. He claimed this is his best book, and it is his favorite of any he wrote. He spent 12 years researching for this book and 7 years writing it…it’s truly amazing. // Buy Here

“Consider this unique and imposing distinction. Since the writing of human history began, Joan of Arc is the only person, of either sex, who has ever held supreme command of the military forces of a nation at the age of seventeen.”

HADES: GOD OF THE UNDERWORLD – AN EVIL BOOK YOU WISH DIDN’T EXIST

12898.jpgDeath of a Salesman by Author Miller

Ugh. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to read this play, and every time it has driven me crazy. There is really nothing I like about this play, but for some reason every American Literature professor believes we have to suffer again and again and again by reading it. I’ve had people explain to me over and over again why it’s a classic play, but I still cannot understand. // Buy Here

“Be loving to him. Because he’s only a little boat looking for a harbor.”

POSEIDON: GOD OF THE SEA & EARTHQUAKES – A BEAUTIFUL & GROUND-BREAKING BOOK

231614.jpg

Night by Elie Wiesel

While this book is groundbreaking as a personal story of a holocaust survivor, it was also groundbreaking for me because it was the first WWII book I had ever read. It opened my eyes and my heart to these stories–since then I’ve devoured every WWII book I’ve come across (as you can probably tell since there are 3 on this list). This was the first book that made me cry, and I really believe it changed my life.  // Buy Here

 

“I am not so naïve as to believe that this slim volume will change the course of history or shake the conscience of the world. Books no longer have the power they once did. Those who kept silent yesterday will remain silent tomorrow.”

APOLLO: GOD OF THE ARTS – A BEAUTIFUL BOOK COVER

18143977.jpgAll the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

Mesmerizing cover, enchanting book. The cover got me reading this book, but by the first chapter the words had hooked me. I found this book so wonderful, and honestly who can resist that beautiful blue cover?!? //Buy Here // Review

 

 

“Open your eyes and see what you can with them before they close forever.”

HYPNOS: GOD OF SLEEP – A BOOK SO BORING YOU ALMOST FELL ASLEEP

215575

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

Yes, this book is ground-breaking and everyone should read it. However, it was really hard for me to get through. I’ve said this many times, I have a hard times with memoirs, and that apparently doesn’t change even when it is a culturally important memoir like this one. // Buy Here // Review

 

“The caged bird sings with a fearful trill,
of things unknown, but longed for still,
and his tune is heard on the distant hill,
for the caged bird sings of freedom.”

HERMES: MESSENGER OF THE GODS – A BOOK YOU SPED THROUGH

152926.jpg

The Hawk and the Dove Trilogy by Penelope Wilcock

I actually didn’t know this book was a trilogy until I was reading it because all the editions have all 3 books in 1. Regardless, I sped through this book(s). It’s close to 600 pages, but the story is so intriguing and captivating, I couldn’t put it down. It follows a group of monks in an English monastery, which sounds like an extremely boring topic, but it really is good. Just writing about it makes me want to pick it up again! // Buy Here

“As he rested in the great hollow shell of tranquility and light, listening to its silence, it dawned upon him that ‘empty’ was the wrong word for this place. It was as full as could be: full of silence, full of light, full of peace.”

I tag: alwaystrustinbooks // bookescapadeblog // bently @ bookbastion // Lyndsey’s Book Blog // sydneysshelves // readinaflash // bookloversblog

Thanks again to Angelica for the tag and to Zuky for creating this awesome tag! It was a fun one to do!!

12 thoughts on “Greek Gods Book Tag

Leave a Reply

