See-ya, April

I guess I blinked and April disappeared…yikes!

It was a pretty busy month for me, so I relied heavily on audiobooks to get my book fix (they especially helped on my two 12 hour road trips I had to take).

 

Books Finished:

*All books link up to my affiliate Book Depository page where you can find the book at a discounted price!

Month review: This month I really went big with the series: I started 3 and finished 1. The one I finished, The MaddAddam Trilogy by Margaret Attwood, was very good, but the last book wasn’t my favorite. The three other series I started were all very good. They were all exciting and addictive. My favorite out of the three was The Century Trilogy by Ken Follett. I don’t like doing reviews until I’m done with the series, but I would just like to say how much I admire Follett for the amount of work he puts into his novels. They are the kind of historical fiction where you forget over and over again that they are fiction–he’s an excellent writer. My favorite standalone novel this month was the Screwtape Letters. It’s fab.

Books Still Reading: 

  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
    • I’ve been working on this beast for a few months now, but I’m not being very aggressive with it. Despite moving very slowly through it, it is fantastic and I’m really enjoying it.
  • ‘Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis
    • A myth retold by C.S. Lewis. This book is very different from the rest of Lewis’ works, and at first it kind of threw me off. Honestly, it feels a lot like a book we would have published today, which isn’t always the case with classic literature.
  • Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker
    • I’m moving in waves with this one. I like it, but I don’t love it, and I’m finding that the further I go the more problems I have with it, so we’ll see how I feel when it ends.
  • We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter
    • This WWII Novel is setting up to be a real tear-jerker and I don’t think I’m ready for it. It was hard at first to keep all the family members straight, and to remember who did what, but once I got everyone straight, I really started to enjoy it. Tears will come, I’m sure of it.
  • The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie
    • I’m starting to like Hercule Poirot the more I read his cases. This one is really fun, and I think I’m doing a pretty good job making informed descisions about who the killer is…but in the end Christie will probably throw in some curveball that will ruin all my guesses.
  • The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien
    • I’ve read this book several times, but we are reading it for my book club and so I decided to start the audiobook on one of my long drives. I’ll probably switch back and forth between the book and the cd, with will make the whole thing go faster, but I am really enjoying the narrator.
Books Coming Up:
  • The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie
  • Path of the Assassin by Brad Thor
  • Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
  • Winter of the World (The Century Trilogy #2) by Ken Follett
  • The Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V.E. Schwab
  • Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
  • Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

 

Looks like I’ve got some reading to do 🙂 Happy May, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

