Writers of the Future (Review)

 

9781619865297.jpgL. Ron Hubbard presents Writers of the Future, Vol. 33.

*I received this volume of short stories in exchange for a honest review. Thank you to LibraryThing.com and Galaxy Press for the opportunity!

Volumes of short stories are hard to review, especially when they are from multiple authors. Each story is very different from the next, and aside from knowing it will either be a sci-fi story or a fantasy story, you really don’t know what you are going to get when you start a new story.

The Writers of the Future volumes are compiled of stories from up-in-coming authors who entered the Writers of the Future competition and were selected by L. Ron Hubbard and a panel of judges. This contest opens doors for young authors, and allows them to see their hard work pay off. I really like this aspect of the book. Knowing that these authors are brand new was what really sparked my interest in this book.

Some of the stories in this volume were very good and I really enjoyed reading them. I don’t have much experience reading sci-fi short stories, and I was impressed that the authors were able to condense sci-fi materials into a short story and make them comprehensible.

Not every story was my favorite, and there were a couple that I had no interest in, but usually right after one I didn’t like, there were a couple in a row that I did like. Furthermore, almost every story was accompanied by an illustration, which I think is a valuable contribution to the short stories.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes sci-fi and fantasy, but doesn’t want to commit themselves to a long series or book.

You can buy the book discounted AND with free shipping here on Book Depository!

Leave a Reply

