Top Ten Tuesday: Biggest Bookish Turn-offs

screenhunter_12-mar-17-09-33.jpg

Happy Tuesday! Today The Broke and the Bookish blog decided they want to hear us all rant, so they gave us The Top Ten Things that Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want to Read A Book as the topic today.

Here is my list of my bookish turn-off’s, but to the spirit of fairness, I will also include some exceptions to these rules ;).

  1. A raunchy cover/language
    • If it looks trashy, I probably won’t read it. Also if it has a to of unnessasary cuss words, I’m probably going to pass (I’m not talking about cuss words now and then or used for emphasis, I do that too, but when they are thrown in the book like commas, I start to have a problem. 
  2. “You absolutely have to read this book or you cannot consider yourself a lover of books.”
    • This is a pretty big pet peeve of mine, and I try really hard not to be one of those people. I mean, we all have different tastes, and it’s perfectly ok. Read books, suggest books, critique books, but don’t tell people their taste in books is worthless because they don’t agree with you.
  3. The phrase “Coming-of-Age”
    • Oooo this phrase really makes me cringe. I don’t know why I dislike it so much, but when I see it in a book description, I tend to lose interest in the book. My exception is A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, which is one of my favorite books.
  4. Celebrity/Comedian memoirs
    • Some people really like these books, but I am not one of them. Even when it comes to celebrities and comedians I really like (e.g. Tina Fey, Jim Gaffigan, Carrie Fisher, etc), I just can’t find the desire to read their books. My exception here is Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology by Leah Remini. I really enjoyed this book, however I only picked it up because I was doing a reading challenge and I had to read a celebrity memoir…I don’t think I would have read it on my own.
  5. Memoirs in general
    • I have a hard time with memoirs in general because I don’t find them 100% believable. I also tend to find them drawn out and pretentious. There are a couple I have liked, but even so I am very hesitant when it comes to memoirs.
  6. Chick-Lit
    • Similar to “Coming-of-age” phrase, this description gives me the hibbie-jibbies. I wasn’t sure if I really did avoid books in this genre, so I went to the GoodReads’ Popular Chick Lit Books List to double check. In the first 300 books on the list, I had only marked 3 as “read” and 5 as “to-read” so I guess it is safe to say that I don’t ususally go for these books.
  7. Pet/animal stories
    • I have zero desire to read pet stories. I went through a stage in middle school where I read a bunch of pet stories, but I’m totally past that. Lately “A Dog’s Purpose” has been strongly advertised, but it has zero pull on me. My exceptions to this point are ones that I read in middle school, but I will gladly go back and read at any time: Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls, and The Horses of Central Park by Michael Slade.
  8. Fix yourself books
    • Financial books, organization books, health books, motivation books, etc…I should read them, probably, but I do not and I have no desire to do so. Exception: The Whole 30 book was fascinating, but even then I mostly just skimmed it.
  9. Fanfiction 
    • This one I wish I liked reading, because it seems to be right up my alley, but I just can’t get behind it, and it makes me sad.
  10. When the movie/tv show was blah.
    • Nothing ruins a book much like a bad movie. I try not to watch the movie before the book, but it does happen sometimes, and if the movie happens to be awful or totally uninteresting, I have zero desire to pick up the book.

 

Well, the rant is over for now and we all survived! Happy Tuesday everyone, I look forward to reading your rants for the week!

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Biggest Bookish Turn-offs

  1. I can’t read memoirs either! Like you, I think the majority of them are filled with totally made up or exaggerated moments. I had to read one for a Contemporary Lit class I took last year, and I absolutely loathed it. The author told so many stories about herself as a young child (between 4-7 years old) that just rang inherently false to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s just the description that turns me away more than what’s in it. There’s something about that phrase that I don’t like. It’s probably silly of me to think so, but it is what it is 🙂 thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. While I generally agree with the above, there are always exceptions. I tend to avoid celeb memoirs like the plague, but once my Dad convinced me to pick up Ozzy Osbourne’s, and I’m glad I did. One of the funniest books I’ve read in ages! How true it, who knows; but there again, who cares?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad I’m not the only one who cringes when I see “coming of age” as a descriptive factor. Just stop! I LOVE A Tree Grows in Brooklyn!!!! I borrowed it from my mother in law when I had nothing to read and sat outside in the fall leaves and read it until I was done. Have you read The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls? They are very similar and she actually mentions A Tree Grows in Brooklyn in the book 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read it, but I’ll check it out!! Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve heard that you should read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn at every stage of your life because you end up relating to different characters every time. I thought that was a neat idea!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My older sister and I read it at the same time, she is in her 30s and has 5 kids, I am in my 20s and single and it was almost like we read completely different books–she identified with the Francie’s mother, while I did with Francie. It was so interesting to talk about after because we brought up completely different points.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. When I first read it I related to both. But now that I’m in my 30’s, have two kids, and things are different I bet that I would relate more to the mother. I think I may have to add this to my books to reread this year!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ruby2227

    I tend to see the phrase “coming-of-age” as a huge red flag. It’s right up there with “triumph of the human spirit.” Those phrases usually mean that the characters are going to be super-unhappy a lot of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice list! This time ours were very different but I certainly agree with a bunch of yours – especially chick-lit, Self-Help and memoirs (but not biographies – ie written by someone other than the subject)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree with so many of these! I hate when books just look like trash, especially if it’s a really sexy, half dressed guy or girl on the cover, I don’t want to read about just super hot people fancying each other and very little else. I’m over chick-lit too, I used to read the odd bit but now anything that says ‘perfect beach read’ I just don’t bother with. And I completely agree about memoirs and autobiographies, half the time I’m like ‘you’re thirty??? Why do you have a memoir already???’ Lol. Crikey this week’s TTT is such a licence to rant, I swear I do like some things about books too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Outstanding list. I agree with most of them except the animal ones. Those that a sentimental, I skip. I normally don’t like top ten lists but I will follow you for awhile. Another that will turn me off is extreme violence.
    I do reviews but I don’t put any that are below 3stars on my blog. I do however let the publisher/ author know and my reason why. Not everyone will agree with me.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what’s great about book blogs, we can share our unpopular opinions about the books we like and dislike! I also don’t like extreme violence in books–its just so hard to read! Thanks for the follow and for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

