Currently Reading // Mid-April

April is halfway through, and I’m decently happy with my reading list so far, not as many as I hoped and I had one I couldn’t finish, but overall it’s been a good month. 

Right now I’m in the middle of 4 books, and all of them seem pretty promising. 

1. Mr. Rochester by Sarah Shoemaker


This Jane Eyre retelling comes from Mr. Rochester’s point of view and it starts when he is a young child; I’m halfway through and he hasn’t even met Jane yet, nor his first wife. So far it’s a charming book, not the best book I’ve ever read, or anything, but it puts a unique point of view to Jane Eyre. 

2. We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter


This story follows a Jewish-Polish family who gets separated in WWII and desperately try to find their way back to each other. I’m about 30 percent in, and already I feel the heartbreak coming. I’m not completely connected with the characters yet, but it’s coming and I really think I’ll like this book. 

3. Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis


This book is a retelling of the Cupid and Psyche myth. I’ve been reading so much of Lewis’ non-fiction lately, that I forgot his skill of writing fiction. I heard this book gets really confusing, and that you just have to stick it out because it all comes together in the end, but so far it’s pretty clear and I’m really enjoying it. 

4. Ann Karenina by Leo Tolstoy 


I’m still working on this giant. It’s really amazing. I have a new found love for Russian Literature and this one is no exception. The characters are full and complex and while there are multiple plots, they are all so unique and interesting, that the amount of them does not seem to pose an issue so far. 

About to start:

I just got the audiobook for The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh. I’ve wanted to read this book for awhile, so I’m excited to start the audiobook and see if it lives up to the hype! 

Leave a Reply

