Friday Five: Dad’s Favorites

My father passed away 6 years ago, but today, April 14th, would have been his 56th birthday. In honor of him, I’m go away from a book theme for my Friday Five today, and I’m going to talk about some of his favorites (I will include one bookish item on the list).

So, Happy Birthday Daddio, I miss you dearly.

10959717_10205645527275770_2745715587193076844_n.jpg
Yeah. My Dad was cool. 

Dad’s Favorites:

1. The Eagles

My dad was a 70’s Rock guy, and the Eagles were his number one. He was always proud of his kids when an Eagle’s song came on and we could properly identify not only the artist but also the title.

Desperado

Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses?
You been out ridin’ fences for so long now
Oh, you’re a hard one
I know that you got your reasons
These things that are pleasin’ you
Can hurt you somehow

Don’t you draw the queen of diamonds, boy
She’ll beat you if she’s able
You know the queen of hearts is always your best bet

Now it seems to me, some fine things
Have been laid upon your table
But you only want the ones that you can’t get

Desperado, oh, you ain’t gettin’ no younger
Your pain and your hunger, they’re drivin’ you home
And freedom, oh freedom well, that’s just some people talkin’
Your prison is walking through this world all alone

Don’t your feet get cold in the winter time?
The sky won’t snow and the sun won’t shine
It’s hard to tell the night time from the day
You’re losin’ all your highs and lows
Ain’t it funny how the feeling goes away?

Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses?
Come down from your fences, open the gate
It may be rainin’, but there’s a rainbow above you
You better let somebody love you (let somebody love you)
You better let somebody love you before it’s too late

2. The Godfather 

maxresdefault.jpg

My dad wasn’t only a 70’s rock guy, he was also a 70’s movie guy. When I was little I think I knew more lines from 70’s movies than I did from current movies. I remember when I was a freshman in high school I got my dad the box set of The Godfather for Christmas, and since then we always made it a point to watch the movies around Christmas time, and he always claimed it was one of the best movies ever made, and I have to agree.

3.Vince Flynn

My dad wasn’t a huge reader, but he always made it a point to read aloud to us kids every night–it’s one of my fondest memories of him, and is a huge reason why I’m such an avid reader today. However, one author he really liked was Vince Flynn, who wrote over a dozen political thriller novels before he died in 2013–2 years after my dad. My dad didn’t only like him because he was a talented story teller, but he had a personal connection to him because they went to high school together. While they hadn’t spoken much after high school, they did correspond while my dad was sick and Vince was writing books like a madman, and my dad treasured their communication.

4. Puzzles

Another habit/skill/passion, what-have-you, that I picked up from my father was that of puzzles. I become obsessed and it’s really all I think about until I finish it–he was the same way. It was a New Years Eve tradition of ours to do a puzzle, but as I got older our puzzles grew larger and more difficult, so it changed from a New Years Eve tradition to a Christmas break tradition. I remember multiple nights where I would wake up in the middle of the night and sneak out to work on the puzzle and my dad would be there already. Still today Christmas break doesn’t feel right unless I have a puzzle to work on.

5. Guinness & Danny Boy

img_4473.jpg
My first Guinness in Ireland, which I drank in honor of my Daddio
Ahh the Irishman at heart! My Dad was very proud of his Irish heritage and he encouraged his children to learn about where they came from. He was third generation Irish-American, and while he had never made it to the Emerald Island, his heart was there and his eyes smiled when he had a Guinness or sang Danny Boy, his favorite Irish ballad.

Oh, Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
From glen to glen, and down the mountain side.
The summer’s gone, and all the roses falling,
It’s you, it’s you must go and I must bide.

But come ye back when summer’s in the meadow,
Or when the valley’s hushed and white with snow,
It’s I’ll be here in sunshine or in shadow,—
Oh Danny boy, Oh Danny Boy, I love you so!

But when ye come, and all the flowers are dying,
If I am dead, as dead I well may be,
Ye’ll come and find the place where I am lying,
And kneel and say an “Avé” there for me;

And I shall hear, though soft you tread above me,
And all my grave will warmer, sweeter be,
For you will bend and tell me that you love me,
and I shall sleep in peace until you come to me!

Love you, Daddio.

 

8 thoughts on “Friday Five: Dad’s Favorites

Leave a Reply

