Top Ten Tuesday: Unique books

As always, top ten tuesday is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish blog;  check it out, it’s a great blog!

This week’s TTT topic is unique books! It’s hard to pinpoint what makes a book unique, so I made a list of the ten books I remember thinking “well, this is different” while reading them. Enjoy!

1. One More Thing: Stories and Other Stories by B.J. Novak

31S+5W5ft7L._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

This book had me laughing at one moment and then saying “what the effff” the next moment. B.J. Novak definitely takes weird to a new level in his short stories. If you have ever watched the American version of The Office (which you should, if you haven’t) then you have seen Novak’s character Ryan…well, this book is exactly like something Ryan would write, which makes it all the more hilarious. If you want to read my full review on it, click here.

2. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller

Catch22.jpg

Catch 22 [Noun] :a dilemma or difficult circumstance from which there is no escape because of mutually conflicting or dependent conditions.

I truly have never read a book quite like this one. The story itself is bizarre and troubling, but the fact that he wrote it in a way that personified the the issue he was describing is really crazy to think about. Everything in this book is a Catch-22, and it is utterly confusing and amusing at the same time. I grew to like the book the longer I read it, but I’ll have to admit it isn’t my favorite book. It is memorable, however, and quite unique.

3. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

51xufiFRCtL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I don’t want to spoil the ending for those who haven’t read it yet, nor seen the movie, but the ending twist is what makes this book truly unique; I don’t think I have read a book that has one paragraph that changes the entire book so drastically as this one does–it’s genius. Oh, and the entire plot when he is stuck on a lifeboat with a tiger is pretty unique as well. If you want to read my full review, click here.

4. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

Phantomtollbooth.png

When I first read this book, or rather when my dad first read it to me, I was blown away by how different and clever this book is. Still today, years later, I find the book tremendously entertaining, and it is truly one of a kind.

5. The Hound of Heaven at My Heels by Robert G. Waldron

51A28s13THL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

When I finished this book, I was convinced it was non-fiction, even though I knew it wasn’t. This book follows the lost “diary” of an opium addicted poet, and a newspaper editor who had made it his quest to find the diary and the poet. It is beautifully written and it’s ability to convince me of its authenticity is what makes it so unique as a fictional piece.

6. The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene du Bois

21Balloons-72_720.jpg

The Twenty-One Balloons was another childhood favorite of mine. It is about an hot air balloon explorer who crashes on the island of Krakatoa, and discovers a world of high-class and sophistiction, as well as great wealth beyond his wildest imaginations. Many books have plots about wondrous lands and exoctic paradises, but none I have read present them in such a charming and unique way as this one. I remember rereading the descriptions of the houses on the island and thinking how even though they had similiar aspects as ours, they were so completely different. I was amazed with this book.

7. Oedipus Rex by Sophocles 

2940014955737_p0_v1_s260x420.JPG

This is definitely a “what-the-what?” play. Being from ancient Greece, you wouldn’t think it would be as compelling and plot twisting as it is. In Grecian literature this one stands alone as the weirdest of them all. I highly recommend it, it will shock you if you have never read it before.

8. Oryk and Crake by Margaret Atwood 

oryx-and-crake-22.jpg

I picked this one up because I wanted to read Handmaid’s Tale, but it was checked out, so I just went with another Margaret Atwood, and I was not disappointed. This, like most dystopian books, is a strange book in a strange time for the world, but I found this one particularilly unique. I just finished the series and I’m going to write a longer review of it as a whole, but for now I’ll just say that it really get’s you thinking.

9. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

event_65467632.jpeg

This classic is a great one, but there is no denying that it is weird. Wilde creates an amazing human study over morality and guilt and does it all within such an entrancing narrative. This classic is one of the more unique one’s when it comes to plot and characters.

10. Prelandra by C.S. Lewis

images.jpeg

Prelandra is the second novel in Lewis’ Space Trilogy series. It can be read as a stand alone novel as long as you know that in the first one the guy made a space ship that took him to mars. In this one he travels the opposite direction and lands on Venus. There he finds a world without corruption, without sin, without doubt, but it is under attack. This book, as many of Lewis’ do, flows with philosophy, theology, and moral dilemma’s. But it also tells the story of love and devotion. It is very different than all the other fantasy books I have read, and it is even very different than any of Lewis’ other works.

 

Thanks for reading my TTT this week! What book are on your unique list?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unique books

  1. You picked some books I definitely thought about! Oryx and Crake, Dorian Gray are great picks. I’ve heard BJ Novak’s book is really good. And I love that you included The Phantom Tollbooth! One of my favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award! – Well-Read Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

