Unique Blogger Award!!

Happy Saturday!

This week I was nominated by Angelica @ The Book Cover Girls for the Unique Blogger Award! Thank you! Thank you! Everyone should check her page, it’s great!

The Rules:

  • Share the link of the blogger who has shown love to you by nominating you.
  • Answer the questions.
  • In the spirit of sharing love and solidarity with our blogging family, nominate 8-13 people for the same award.
  • Ask them three questions.

 

Angelica’s questions:

What is the longest book you’ve ever read and how long did it take you to read it?

I think the longest book I’ve read is the unabridged version of Les Miserables by Victor Hugo(1,463 pages). I read this in high school and I think it took me a summer to read, but I don’t remember exactly how long. Awesome book, awesome musical.

If you could rewrite a book to make it to your liking, would you? Which book and why?

Ooo, this is a tough question, because I would definitely want to, but I don’t know if I would actually do it, it would feel too wrong. However, for arguments sake, I’ll pick a couple.

Out of classics I would pick Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, because when I read it I was so creeped out by Mr. Rochester that I was completely appalled when Jane went back to marry him. If I could rewrite it, I would show more of his positive qualities and maybe explain his previous marriage a little better, to show that he wasn’t a complete creep.

For newer books I would rewrite Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. I was so furious when I finished this book and I still get a little angry when I think about it. I won’t go into all of the issues I have with it, but the main thing I would change is the lack of closure between Gale and Katniss.

What is your least favorite book of all time and why does it suck so much?

If you had asked me this last year I would have said Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, but then I re-read it and it is now in my top ten…it makes me want to re-read everything from high school to see what I missed out on. Anyway, I don’t know what my all time least favorite book is, but my least favorite of the past two years has got to be The Fates and the Furies by Lauren Groff. Ugh, I really didn’t like anything about this book, not the plot, nor the characters, nor the voice, nada.

 

Thank you again to the Book Cover Girls for the nomination!!

I now nominate Book Obsession, Zuky the BookBum, Book Princess Reviews, Spotlight on Stories, The Romantic Quill, RiverMoose-Reads, The Paperback Princess, Pace, Amore, Libri

And your 3 questions are:

  1. What is your favorite classic, and what makes it so great?
  2. If you could make any book into a movie, which one would it be?
  3. Which author would you pick to write your biography and why?

 

Please do not feel obligated to participate if you don’t want to, I just think you guys are kinda cool so I want to see you answers 😉 but again, no pressure! If you do answer, please link up so I can see your answers!

9 thoughts on “Unique Blogger Award!!

  1. I super agree about Mockingjay. There was no closure between them and it was upsetting that it was left so unresolved. Even though I was “Team Peeta” or whatnot, I still wanted at least a conversation to address the issues more than what we got. I wasn’t too much of a fan on Frankenstein either, but now I’m wondering if a reread is in order with what happened with you and the book 😄 your answers were so much fun to read, and I can’t wait to answer yours (although it might take me a bit XD). Thank you for the tag, and wonderful post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Can’t wait to see your answers! No worries if it takes awhile! Yeah, I don’t know why my opinion of the Frankenstein changed, or if I had just read different versions (there is an 1818 text and an 1831 text, I recently read the 1818, but I don’t know what I read in high school), but regardless my entire opinion changed–I would say give it a shot again if you have time! In Hunger Games I definitely liked Gale better as a character, but I don’t think they should have ended up together, I just think they should have had closer…it really shouldn’t bother me as much as it does haha.

      Like

  2. I have always wanted to read Les Miserables but the size of it intimidates me. I once did read an abridged version of it for my 9th grade English class. I don’t really remember what happened in it, but I do like the musical and the movie so I might have to give the full book a shot. Also, I totally agree about Mockingjay. It was such a dissatisfying ending. I read Frankenstein in college and like it. I read the 1818 text. Which did you read? A lot of people don’t realize that Mary Shelly wrote two versions. The original 1818 text and then another version in 1831. I hear that the 1831 text is better.I might read that one one day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The size of Les Mis is daunting, plus Hugo goes off on these historical tangents that seem to last 200 pages…which they actually might, but if you can get past those, it’s a great book. I don’t know which version I read in high school, but this last year I read the 1818 version, but it had footnotes on parts that were changed in the 1931 version. I want to read more about the different versions and maybe read both to see which I like better. I don’t know what changed from high school to now, but it was as if I was reading a completely different book.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I will definitely have to read Les Mis. If I get a copy of it I might be more inclined to read but then again I own a bunch of book I haven’t read yet. Anyway, you probably read two different versions, that’s why. I read the 1818 text, and liked it, but more was added to the 1831 so I want to read that too one day and compare also

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I just looked through one of my copies and it said a lot of characters were made less extreme in the ’31 copy, so that would probably make a big difference as well! Anyway, it’s an interesting comparison, you don’t often have an author write the same book twice.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

