The Classics Club: 50 in 5

The Classics Club is a blog created to promote the reading of classics. I learned about this the other day through another blog post and I decided to give it a whirl. The challenge The Classics Club presents is to read (at least) 50 classic books in 5 years and write reviews on the books you read. Seems pretty cool, eh? Since I’ve been trying to read more classics anyway, this seems like a pretty cool challenge. 5 years seems like a long time, but looking at the page number of some of these book, I think that’s appropriate. It’s a big undertaking, but if this is the push I need to get through my classics list, then I’ll take it!

I started with the classics I own yet haven’t read and then moved to my Goodreads to-read list when I got through those. Most of the books are novels, but there are a couple novellas, a couple plays, and a few works of short stories. All of the books are ones I haven’t read, except for The Lord of the Rings which my book club is reading this summer, so I’m rereading it (counted as only one book).

I’m going to still to be doing reviews on newer books, but I’ll be reviewing the classics as I finish them.

So here it is, the grand list! It’s sorted in alphabetical order by author, not in the order I’m going to read them. My beginning date is today, March 25, 2017, which makes my end date March 25, 2022. Wish me luck!

5o in 5

  1. Little Women by Louise May Alcott (449)
  2. A Lantern in Her Hand by Bess Streeter Aldrich (251)
  3. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou (246)
  4. Persuasion by Jane Austin (249)
  5. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austin (409)
  6. Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry (190)
  7. A Man for All Seasons by Robert Bolt (192)
  8. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (489)
  9. Evelina by Fanny Burney (455)
  10. Death Comes to the Archbishop by Willa Cather (297)
  11. Shadows on the Rock by Willa Cather (229)
  12. The Complete Father Brown Stories by G.K. Chesterton (718)
  13. The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane (170)
  14. Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky (545)
  15. Notes From the Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky (136)
  16. The Robe by Lloyd C. Douglas (528)
  17. Middlemarch by George Eliot (800)
  18. The Last Tycoon: an unfinished novel by F. Scott Fitzgerald (163)
  19. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell (521)
  20. Lord of the Flies by William Golding (182)
  21. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy (433)
  22. Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy (518)
  23. Twice-Told Tales by Nathaniel Hawthorne (432)
  24. The Old Man and the Sea by Earnest Hemingway (132)
  25. The Odyssey by Homer (541)
  26. The Man Who Laughs by Victor Hugo (672)
  27. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James (121)
  28. Passing by Nella Larsen (122)
  29. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis (223)
  30. Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis (313)
  31. Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh (130)
  32. Moby-Dick by Herman Melville (720)
  33. The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor (555)
  34. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath (244)
  35. Pale Horse, Pale Rider by Katherine Anne Porter (208)
  36. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (277)
  37. The Merchant of Venice by William Shakespeare (237)
  38. The Tempest by William Shakespeare (215)
  39. The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan (288)
  40. The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien (1,216)
  41. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (838)
  42. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy (1,273)
  43. The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain (848)
  44. Ida Elisabeth by Sigrid Undset (425)
  45. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne (240)
  46. Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh (351)
  47. The Time Machine by H.G. Wells (118)
  48. The Once and Future King by T.H. White (640)
  49. The Waves by Virginia Woolf (297)
  50. To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf (209)

 

If anyone else is interested in learning more about the Classics Club, check out their blog!

13 thoughts on “The Classics Club: 50 in 5

  1. Pingback: I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Well-Read Twenty Something

  2. Pingback: The Screwtape Letters – Well-Read Twenty Something

  3. Pingback: The Fall of the House of Usher – Well-Read Twenty Something

  4. We have a few that match up like Little Women and Middlemarch. I’ve just read North and South and I think it’s fantastic so I hope you enjoy that one.

    I hope you enjoy The Tempest. It’s one of my favourite Shakespeare plays 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I saw you had those two on your list! It’s crazy how many classics there are to choose from! I’m looking forward to The Tempest too, I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet!

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Joy Luck Club – Well-Read Twenty Something

  6. Pingback: Life Lessons from the Musketeers – Well-Read Twenty Something

  7. Pingback: The Tempest – Well-Read Twenty Something

  8. Pingback: A Good Man is Hard to Find   – Well-Read Twenty Something

  9. Pingback: The River (mini-review) – Well-Read Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

