Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to us by The Broke and the Bookish and it features a new top ten category each week and they invite their readers to do the same. This is my first Top Ten Tuesday, but I hope to keep this going throughout the year!

Top Ten on my Spring “To Be Read” list:
  1. We Were the Lucky Ones by Georgia Hunter30267929.jpgThis book follows a Polish Jewish family who is separated during WWII and desperately try to find each other. I’m sure it will break my heart in more ways than one.

 

  1. The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis 51IwA+rT1YL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgThis classic by Lewis is one of my favorite books and we happen to be reading it for my book club, so I am very excited to read it again. It is about the correspondence between a young devil (Wormwood) and his uncle (Screwtape). Wormwood is new to the job of tempting humans and Screwtape is giving him advice. This book is brilliant and every chapter leaves you thinking.

 

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy51vPf2CfSEL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgI probably won’t finish this one in the spring because it’s a billion pages long, but I’m going to try! I’m trying to read at least one big Russian Lit. book a year and this is it for 2017.

 

  1. MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood
    17262203.jpgThis is the third book in Atwood’s MaddAddam trilogy and I am so excited to finish off this series. It’s a really interesting dystopian world, and the characters are riveting!

 

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab22055262.jpg This is another book I know nothing about, but I’ve seen this book series everywhere and I want to be apart of the fun. It’s about magicians, so it should be fun.

 

  1. The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe5a37e7c2e687af84ad6bba7c777c62eb.jpg I haven’t read Poe in a long time, and I have read more of his poems than his short stories, so this one will be a but of a refresher…an eerie, horrific refresher, but a refresher all the same.

 

  1. All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda23212667.jpgI’m also on a mystery kick this spring, and this one caught my eye because of the beautiful cover. I also saw it on a few list for books to read in 2017, and thought I’d give it a go!

 

  1. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha ChristieMurder-on-the-Orient-Express.JPG Like I said, I’m on a mystery kick and who better to read then the Queen of mystery herself? I’ve been work my way through Christie’s books, and with the upcoming movie based on this book, I decided I need to read it sooner rather than later.

 

  1. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden25489134.jpg I picked this book 100% because of the title and the cover. It looks gorgeous and it sounds gorgeous. I know nothing about it, but I’m sure it will be gorgeous.

 

  1. Till We Have Faces by C.S. LewisTill_We_Have_Faces(C.S_Lewis_book)_1st_edition_cover.jpg You can never have too much C.S. Lewis, right? This book is a retelling of the myth of Cupid and Psyche. I don’t know much about it, but I’m looking forward to it.

 

There we have it! First Top Ten Tuesday in the bag!

 

 

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Spring TBR

  1. I think I’ll be copy-pasting your Spring TBR and somehow fit it in with my own. Thankfully, have read a couple of them already so I wouldn’t fail too miserably to accomplish this undertaking.

    Like

  2. Ahhh I also want to read Murder on the Orient Express and The Bear and the Nightingale! I only read mystery sporadically but I loved Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None – it’s sooo deliciously creepy and kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

    Great TBR! Hope you enjoy A Darker Shade of Magic – that’s one of my favourite series and it really, really delivers. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

