One More Thing

Reading my way through Popsugar’s 2016 Book Challenge.

Category: A Book Written by a Comedian

one-more-thing_One More Thing – B.J. Novak (222)

Rating: ★★★

Favorite Line: “If you love something, let it go. If you don’t love something, definitely let it go. Basically, just drop everything, who cares.”

Review:

For all you lovers of NBC’s hit show “The Office” this books is for you…well, this book if for you if you want to hear Ryan’s voice in your head while reading some seriously messed up short stories that could only come from our favorite character we loved to hate.

If I didn’t know that The Office was fictional (as much as I hate to admit it) I would be convinced that Ryan Howard, after leaving Dunder Mifflin, took the pen name BJ Novak and decided to pursue his life long dream of being a short story author, with Kelly Kapoor cheering him on (and paying the bills).

I read many mixed reviews for this book so I really didn’t know what to expect, but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I found the stories to be fun and weird, however I don’t think it is for everyone. Novak writes with such a dry sense of humor and if you are not familiar with it or if it’s just not your comedic style you will walk away unimpressed.

If you are planning on reading One More Thing, be prepared to be completely taken off guard. I’m serious. Right when you think you know where the story is going it takes an unexpected, and at many times a dark and slightly disturbing, turn.

“I was sad that summer was over.

But I was happy that it was over for m enemies, too.”

Some of the stories are a few pages long, while others are only a few sentences long. Even the short ones packed a punch, however. Those two lines above are a complete story in this book and yet they are just as relatable to human nature as a 250-page novel is.

I’ll admit, some of the stories were too off the wall for me and I left them feeling rather bewildered, however, some of them were deep and beautiful, while being witty at the same time.

“Being young was her thing, and she was the best at it. But every year, more and more girls came out of nowhere and tried to steal her thing.

One of these days I’m gong to have to get a new thing, she thought to herself–but as quietly as she could, because she knew that if anyone caught her thinking this thought, her thing would be right over right then.”

I don’t usually expect much out of short story books. Typically there are one or two good stories and the rest are not so great, but this one kept me pretty amused throughout its entirety. Yes, there were a few that were too strange for my liking, but I kept reading because even if they were weird in a Ryan Howard way, they were still very entertaining.

****

BJ Novak is an actor, writer, and director. He is also the author of popular children’s book, The Book with No Pictures. 

2 thoughts on “One More Thing

  1. Pingback: 2016 Book Challenge Update! – Well-Read Twenty Something

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Unique books – Well-Read Twenty Something

Leave a Reply

